Marcus Ericsson
Marcus  Ericsson
Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
7 Honda Sweden Sunoco Rookie
Marcus Ericsson
Career stats
Indy Car History
Championships: 0
Indy 500 Wins: 0
Total Poles
Race Wins
Sep 2, 1990
Kumla, Sweden
Indianapolis, IN


  • Competing in his first season in the NTT IndyCar Series with Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.
  • Most recently competed in Formula 1, racing with Sauber for the last four seasons.
  • Won the British Formula BMW and Japanese F3 championships. Also competed in British F3 and GP2 (now called Formula 2).


  • Enjoys watching professional hockey and cheering on the Swedish national team. He played goalie as a youth player before deciding on a racing career.
  • Enjoys food and enjoys watching the Swedish version of “Master Chef.”
  • Favorite foods are Mexican and Japanese


2019 NTT IndyCar Series 16 0 0 1 3 6 13
Total 16 0 0 1 3 6 13

RAF = Running at Finish




First Start
March 10, 2019 (St. Petersburg)


  • 2019
    • Made NTT IndyCar Series debut with Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports at St. Petersburg, finishing 20th.
    • Recorded one top-5 and 3 top-10 finishes

Marcus's Road to Indy

  • 2018
    • Finished 17th in the Formula One drivers’ championship for Alfa Romeo Sauber with best finish of ninth at Bahrain, Hockenheim and Mexico City.
  • 2017
    • Recorded best finish of 11th at Baku in Formula 1.
    • Failed to score a point in third season with Sauber.
  • 2016
    • Recorded best Formula 1 finish of 12th at Catalunya and Sepang (Malaysia).
    • Failed to score a point in second season with Sauber.
    • Outperformed his teammate and was brought back for another season.
  • 2015
    • Finished 18th in the Formula 1 drivers’ championship.
    • Moved to Sauber and scored first Formula One points with an eighth-place finish at Australia.
  • 2014
    • Became first Swedish F1 driver in more than 20 years.
    • Made 16 starts in Formula One for Caterham with a best finish of 11th at Monaco.
  • 2013
    • Finished sixth in GP2 for DAMS with a win at Nurburgring.
    • Recorded five podiums, two poles and three fastest laps.
    • Scored second most points over final six races.
  • 2012
    • Finished eighth in GP2 for ISport International, scoring a win at Spa Francorchamps and five podiums.
  • 2011
    • Finished 10th in GP2 for ISport International, scoring two podiums, including second at the GP2 Final.
    • Finished ixth in GP2 Asia Series with a win in four starts.
  • 2010
    • Finished 11th in GP2 for Super Nova with win at Valencia 2 and six top-10 finishes.
  • 2009
    • Won the Japanese F3 Championship for Tom’s with five wins (Suzuka 1, Fuji 4, Suzuka 4, Motegi 1 and Sugo 2).
    • Finished fourth in the Macau Grand Prix.
    • Tested Formula One car with Brawn.
  • 2008
    • Finished fifth in British F3 for Fortec with four second place finishes (Oulton Park 2, Rockingham 1, Thruxton1 and Silverstone 2).
    • Scored a third in Silverstone 1.
    • Won pole at Croft and Brands Hatch.
    • Competed in the Macau Grand Prix.
  • 2007
    • Won Formula BMW UK Championship for Fortec with seven wins, 13 podiums and seven fastest laps.
  • Early Career
    • Began karting at age 9 after former driver Fredrik Ekblom discovered him at a local karting track.
    • Named rookie of the year in Swedish Formula Micro and Formula Mini and won Swedish and Nordic karting titles.
Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

Established in 2001 and owned by former Indy car driver Sam Schmidt and Canadian businessman Ric Peterson, Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports (Arrow SPM) currently competes in the NTT IndyCar Series.

With a storied history in the Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires series with more than 70 wins, more than 70 pole positions and seven championship wins, the Indianapolis-based team has also found success in the NTT IndyCar Series with seven wins, two Indianapolis 500 pole positions and seven poles claimed overall, as well as three top-five finishes in the championship points standings.


Team Website arrowspmindycar.com