Scott McLaughlin

Team Penske is back on track to possibly sweep the front row for the 108th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge after its cars took the top three spots in Top 12 Qualifying this afternoon at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Scott McLaughlin was fastest with a four-lap average of 233.492 mph in the No. 3 Pennzoil Team Penske Chevrolet. 2018 “500” winner Will Power rallied from an engine plenum issue in the pre-qualifying practice to end up second at 233.483 in the No. 12 Verizon Business Team Penske Chevrolet. Reigning “500” winner Josef Newgarden was third at 233.286 in the No. 2 Shell Powering Progress Team Penske Chevrolet.

SEE: Qualifying Procedure

“I’m excited to go again,” McLaughlin said. “The car is so good right now, and hopefully we can put up a big number.”

Firestone Fast Six qualifying starts at 5:20 p.m. ET on the 2.5-mile oval.

The other three drivers participating in the Firestone Fast Six for the NTT P1 Award are Alexander Rossi (fourth, 233.071), rookie and 2021 NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Larson (fifth, 232.788) and Santino Ferrucci (sixth, 232.723). The Firestone Fast Six session takes place from 5:25-5:55 p.m. ET today on the 2.5-mile oval.

Katherine Legge, Marcus Ericsson and Graham Rahal earned the final three starting spots in Last Chance Qualifying. Rookie Nolan Siegel, who was bumped during the session, crashed in the No. 18 Dale Coyne Racing Honda on the final attempt of the session and did not qualify. Siegel was unhurt.

NBC, Peacock and the INDYCAR Radio Network are providing live coverage now.