Pato O'Ward
Patricio  O'Ward
31 Chevrolet Mexico Sunoco Rookie Road To Indy Graduate
Patricio O'Ward
Career stats
Indy Car History
Championships: 0
Indy 500 Wins: 0
Total Poles
Race Wins
May 6, 1999
Monterrey, Mexico
San Antonio, TX


  • 2018 Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires champion will move up to the NTT IndyCar Series with Carlin for 13 races in 2019.
  • Won 16 Road to Indy Races from 2016-2018.
  • 2017 IMSA WeatherTech Sports Car champion in the Prototype Challenge class and a class winner at the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona and 12 Hours of Sebring.


  • Although a native of Mexico, attended high school in San Antonio, Texas and has lived in Dallas area for several years.
  • Always looking to stay fit for racing, he incorporates boxing into his training regime.
  • A fan of action movies, his favorite actors are Robert Downey Jr., and Margot Robbie.
  • Considers himself a huge “foodie,” and also enjoys listening to electronic dance music.
  • His favorite artists are Kygo, Calvin Harris and Steve Aoki.


2019 NTT IndyCar Series 7 0 0 0 1 0 7
2018 NTT IndyCar Series 1 0 0 0 1 0 1
Total 8 0 0 0 2 0 8
2018 Indy Lights 17 9 9 15 17 367 17
2017 Indy Lights 4 0 0 2 3 0 3
2016 Indy Pro 2000 16 7 5 12 16 233 15
2015 Indy Pro 2000 16 0 0 7 14 0 14

RAF = Running at Finish




First Start
September 16, 2018 (Sonoma)
First Win
First Pole

NTT IndyCar Series

  • 2019
    • Competed in seven NTT INDYCAR SERIES events with Carlin Racing.
    • Recorded a best finish of 8th at Circuit of the Americas.
  • 2018
    • Qualified fifth and finished ninth in his NTT INDYCAR SERIES debut at Sonoma with Harding Racing.
    • Tested an Indy car for Harding Racing at Sonoma Raceway.

Patricio's Road To Indy

  • 2018
    • Won the Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires championship for Andretti Autosport with nine wins, nine poles and 13 podium finishes.
  • 2017
    • Won the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Prototype Challenge class with co-driver James French in dominant fashion, with seven victories in eight races including the Rolex 24 at Daytona.
    • Competed in four Indy Lights races for Team Pelfrey with a podium at second race at St. Petersburg.
  • 2016
    • Finished second in the Pro Mazda Championship presented by Cooper Tires for Team Pelfrey with seven wins, five poles and nine podiums.
    • Won six of the first seven races of the season.
  • 2015
    • Finished sixth in the Pro Mazda Championship for Team Pelfrey with three podiums and seven top-five finishes.
    • Awarded Pro Mazda Spirit Award, given to the driver of team that embodies the “Heart of a Champion."
  • 2014
    • Finished seventh in French Formula 4 despite missing the first two events.
    • Earned 10 top-five finishes, including a win at Paul Ricard.
  • 2013
    • Competed in Formula LATAM F2000 Series in Mexico, the Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior Series in Europe and Pacific F2000 Series in the United States, winning a race.
  • 2012
    • Won the SKUSA Supernationals and Summernational S5 Junior Shifter Championship
    • Won the Stock Moto Junior S4 class in the Texas Pro Kart Challenge while finishing second in the Rotax Junior class
  • 2011
    • Finished second in the Rotax MiniMax Florida Tour
    • Finished second in the SKUSA Supernationals TaG Cadet class
  • 2010
    • Won the SKUSA Supernationals TaG Cadet class
    • Finished fourth in the ROK Cup International in Lonato, Italy
  • 2009
    • Finished second in the Mexican Rotax Grand National MiniMax championship and the U.S. Rotax Grand National MiniMax class
  • 2008
    • Won the US Rotax Grand National MicroMax championship
  • 2007
    • Won the Mexican Easykart 60cc National championship
Carlin Racing

Carlin has been a fixture in the motorsports industry for nearly 20 years and has been a major factor in developing some of today’s most accomplished drivers in the world.

The team currently competes in the NTT IndyCar Series, Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires, FIA Formula 2 Championship, FIA Formula Three European Championship, EuroFormula Open, and the BRDC British F3 Championship.

Overall, Carlin has 24 championship titles and more than 380 victories, including wins in Indy Lights, Formula 3, GP2, Porsche Supercup and championships in Indy Lights, Formula 4, FIA Formula 3 and Formula 3.5 World Series by Renault. It became the first British team to win in America, claiming the Indy Lights team and driver titles in 2016.

Some of today’s most successful drivers have passed through the doors of Carlin, including racers in Formula 1, INDYCAR, WTCC and DTM. Among the drivers the team count as alumni are Josef Newgarden, Will Power, Takuma Sato, Sebastian Vettel, Nico Rosberg and Daniel Ricciardo. Nearly half the current NTT IndyCar Series field has raced for Carlin at some point in their career.

Carlin’s NTT IndyCar Series effort, which made its series debut with a two-car entry in 2018, will field a full-time entry for Max Chilton. Mexican rookie Patricio O’Ward, the 2018 Indy Lights champion, and Charlie Kimball, who raced full-time for the team in 2018,will compete in selected races for the team. .

Carlin’s headquarters is located in Farnham, Surrey and it maintains its NTT IndyCar Series and Indy Lights program out of the team’s U.S. race shop in Delray Beach, Florida.


Team Website carlin.co.uk