Jimmie Johnson
Jimmie  Johnson
Chip Ganassi Racing
48 Honda USA
Jimmie Johnson
Career stats
Indy Car History
Championships: 0
Indy 500 Wins: 0
Total Poles
Race Wins
Sep 17, 1975
El Cajon, California
Charlotte, North Carolina


• 2021 was his first season in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES. Raced on the street and road course races with Chip Ganassi Racing.
• Seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion is one of the most accomplished and decorated professional athletes of his era and is the only race car driver ever to be named Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year. His historic seven championship titles are shared with NASCAR Hall of Famers Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt as the most all-time.
• Recorded 83 wins, 232 top-five, 374 top-10 finishes and 36 pole positions en route to seven championships, including five in a row from 2006-2010. Johnson ranks sixth on the NASCAR all-time wins list and is a two-time Daytona 500 winner (2006, 2013) and a four-time Brickyard 400 winner (2006, 2008, 2009, 2012).


• Away from the track, focuses on his family and rigorous fitness regimen.
• Has competed in numerous half-marathons, triathlons and a half Ironman where he placed 15th overall.
• Competed in the Boston Marathon in 2019, finishing with a time of 3:09:07.
• Also focuses on the Jimmie Johnson Foundation, which is dedicated to helping children, families and communities in need and has donated more than $12 million to various organizations involving children and public education.


2022 NTT INDYCAR SERIES 5 0 0 0 1 0 4
2021 NTT INDYCAR SERIES 12 0 0 0 0 0 10
Total 17 0 0 0 1 0 14

RAF = Running at Finish


First Start
March 7, 2021 (St. Petersburg)

NTT IndyCar Series

  • 2021
    • Made 12 NTT INDYCAR SERIES starts for Chip Ganassi Racing with a best finish of 17th at Laguna Seca and Long Beach.
  • 2020
    • Participated in two events in the INDYCAR iRacing Challenge during the COVID-19 pandemic as a guest invitee.
Chip Ganassi Racing

Chip Ganassi created his own one-car Indy car team in 1990. Today, his racing empire includes entries in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES and NASCAR Cup Series

Chip Ganassi Racing's open-wheel teams have amassed 13 championships and more than 100 wins, while overall his teams can claim 20 championships and more than 225 wins.

Chip Ganassi Racing solidified its place in open-wheel racing history, becoming the first team to amass four consecutive CART championships with Jimmy Vasser (1996), Alex Zanardi (1997-98) and rookie Juan Pablo Montoya (1999).

Following a switch from CART to the NTT INDYCAR SERIES in 2003, Ganassi and driver Scott Dixon captured the championship. Dixon claimed his second title for Ganassi in 2008, while Dario Franchitti won three straight series titles from 2009-11, allowing the team to amass another four consecutive Indy car titles. Dixon won his third title with a dramatic rally in the final third of the 2013 season, claimed the 2015 title on a tiebreaker after claiming a win in the season finale, continued the championship legacy with his fifth championship in 2018, and solidified his legendary status with his sixth championship in 2020.

In 2010, Ganassi was responsible for the first American auto racing "Triple Crown" (Daytona 500, Indianapolis 500 and Brickyard 400 wins) and added the first-ever "Chip Slam" of motorsports to his resume with a victory in the 2011 Rolex 24 At Daytona (holding all four major titles at one time).

For 2021, Chip Ganassi Racing has expanded to a four-car lineup. Swede Marcus Ericsson returns for his second season in the No. 8 Huski Chocolate Chip Ganassi Racing entry. Scott Dixon continues his quest for his seventh championship in the No. 9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing entry. Spaniard Alex Palou joins the team in the No. 10 NTT DATA Chip Ganassi Racing entry, Seven-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson begins a new chapter of his legendary motorsports career in the No. 48 Carvana Chip Ganassi Racing entry for the road/street events, with 2004 INDYCAR SERIES champion and 2013 Indianapolis 500 champion Tony Kanaan taking the reins for the four oval events.

Team Website chipganassiracing.com/