

TRACK LENGTH: 2.5-MILE OVAL | QUALIFYING FORMAT: 4 LAPS (SEE BACK FOR DETAILS)

POWER TRIES FOR INDIANAPOLIS SWEEP - After winning the INDYCAR Grand Prix for the second time in his career on May 13, Will Power of Team Penske aims to make history at Indianapolis. Power could become the first Verizon IndyCar Series driver to win on both the IMS Road Course and Oval. Can Power complete a history-making Month of May?

Joe Skibinski/INDYCAR PHOTO

WHAT TO WATCH FOR THIS WEEKEND:

WILL HELIO WIN FOURTH INDY 500?: Three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves can join elite company should he win the Indianapolis 500-Mile Race. Castroneves, who won in 2001, 2002 and 2009, would join A.J. Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears as the race's only four-time winners.

FORMER CHAMPIONS RETURN IN SEARCH OF SECOND WIN: Five former Indianapolis 500 winners return with eyes on adding a second Baby Borg to their collection. 2008 winner Scott Dixon and 2013 winner Tony Kanaan return with the formidable Chip Ganassi Racing team. Ryan Hunter-Reay and reigning champion Alexander Rossi will aim to bring Andretti Autosport another win in the Indy 500 and Buddy Lazier returns with Lazier-Burns Racing 20 years after claiming his Indy 500 win. Can a former winner score a second Indianapolis win?

FROM THE POLE TO VICTORY LANE: The winner of the pole position for the Indianapolis 500 has also won the race 20 times. Forty-three times, the winner has come from the front row, the last time in 2010 with Dario Franchitti. Who can establish themselves as a race contender by winning the pole position or qualifying on the front row this year?

PENSKE SEEKS HISTORY: Team owner Roger Penske has won the Indianapolis 500 a record 16 times and brings five strong entries in 2017 with three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves, two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya, series points leader Simon Pagenaud, former Verizon IndyCar Series champion Will Power and rising star Josef Newgarden. Can the fearsome fivesome become the first team to lock out the podium and complete the Captain's sweep?

DIVERSE ROOKIE CLASS HOPES TO MAKE STRONG IMPRESSION: The rookie class features a two-time Formula One champion, the reigning Indy Lights champion, one of two drivers to win races on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway's road course and oval and a driver who has competed in all three levels of the Mazda Road to Indy. The 2017 rookies are: Fernando Alonso, Jack Harvey, Ed Jones and Zach Veach.





Firestone | FAST FACT

The 2016 Indianapolis 500 qualifying difference between the polesitter, Hinchcliffe, and second place, Newgarden, was about 0.5 revolutions of a tire or about a 41.3 inch distance.

Take the driver's seat from any seat.

INDYCAR Mobile gives you access like never before, with live in-car streams, telemetry data, live audio feeds and so much more. All on your phone. Only on Verizon.



DOWNLOAD IOS & Android. Data usage applies. Available on IOS and Android devices. INDYCAR is a registered trademark of Brickyard Trademarks, Inc., used with permission. Trademarks used with permission from Penske Racing, Inc.

<complex-block>

2017 VERIZON INDYCAR SERIES POINT STANDINGS (TOP 5 AFTER 5 OF 17 EVENTS)

1. SIMON PAGENAUD Team Penske	191
2. SCOTT DIXON Chip Ganassi Racing	181
3. JOSEF NEWGARDEN Team Penske	152
4. HELIO CASTRONEVES Team Penske	149
5. WILL POWER Team Penske	145

EVENT SCHEDULE

All times local. Schedule subject to change.

REIDAY	1AY 19	10:00 am	Public Gates/IMS Midway Opens
		12:00-6:00 pm	Verizon IndyCar Series Practice
		6:00 pm	Public Gates Close
		6:15 pm	Qual Draw (Plaza)
Ц	IAY 20 N		
		7:00 am	Public Gates Open
V		8:00 am	Verizon IndyCar Series Group 1 Practice
		8:30 am	Verizon IndyCar Series Group 2 Practice
Ц		9:00 am	IMS Midway Opens
ב		9:00 am	Verizon IndyCar Series Practice
A		11:00 am-5:50 pm	Verizon IndyCar Series Qualifying Begins (Positions 1-9 advance to Fast Nine)
()	AY 21 N	6:00 pm	Public Gates Close
		9:00 am	Public Gates/IMS Midway Opens
		10:00 am	Military Enlistment Ceremony (Plaza)
		12:00 pm	Verizon IndyCar Series Practice (Positions 10-33)
$\mathbf{\mathbf{x}}$		1:15 pm	Verizon IndyCar Series Practice (Fast 9)
		2:45 am	Verizon IndyCar Series Qualifying: Positions 10-33
¥		5:00 pm	Verizon IndyCar Series Qualifying/Fast Nine: Positions 1-9
5		5:45 pm	Verizon P1 Awards (Pit Lane)
IJ	Σ	6:00 pm	Public Gates Close
		JALIFYIN	G 101

MAY 20: QUALIFICATIONS

LD: At the conclusion of Saturday qualifications, SETTING THE FIELD: At the conclusion of saturday qualifications, the starting field for the 101st Running of the Indianapolis 500 is set. All entries are guaranteed one qualification attempt.

LOCKED INTO TOP NINE, TRANSFER TO FAST NINE SHOOTOUT

SI

9: The fastest nine entries are locked into the field and advance to May 21's Fast Nine Shootout.

'S: Multiple attempts are permitted with or MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS: Multiple att without withdrawing a previous time.

POSITIONS 10-33: Locked into field and advance to Group 1 qualifying on May 21 to determine starting order.

	POSITIONS 10-33 • SECURED IN THE FIELD (GROUP 1)						
JNDAY, MAY 21: ARMED FORCES POLE DAY							
HEIHEIHE	Haihaihaihaihaihaihai						

GROUP 1 • POSITIONS 10-33 DETERMINED

STARTING ORDER: May 20 qualifying times are erased. All entries must make another four-lap qualifying attempt to determine their position, in the following groups:

GROUP 1 (2:45-4:45 PM): Determines starting positions 10-33. Each entry makes one attempt in order based on slowest to fastest from May 20 qualifying times.

FAST NINE SHOOTOUT (5-5:45 PM): Fastest nine qualifiers must make one four-lap attempt, in order based on slowest to fastest from May 20 qualifying times, to determine their starting position in the first three rows, including pole position and the Verizon P1 Award.

FAST NINE SHOOTOUT

POSITIONS 1–9 DETERMINED ng Pole Position) (Including)

* Per the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series Rule Book, if a car is unable to complete its one guaranteed attempt on Saturday, May 20 because of a mechanical condition or incident, it may be

designated by INDYCAR as an "Unqualified Car" and eligible to participate in "Last Chance Qualifying" on Sunday, May 21 from 1:45 - 2:00 p.m. ET.

SCHEDULE n 17

8	WINNER: SEBASTIEN BOURDAIS Streets of St. Petersburg	8	WINNER: JAMES HINCHCLIFFE Streets of Long Beach		WINNER: JOSEF NEWGARDEN BARBER MOTORSPORTS PARK
-	WINNER: SIMON PAGENAUD Phoenix international raceway		WINNER: WILL POWER IMS ROAD COURSE	abc	MAY 20, 4:00PM (QUAL DAY 1) Indianapolis motor speedway
abc	MAY 21, 4:00PM (QUAL DAY 2) Indianapolis motor speedway	abo	MAY 28, 11:00AM (OVAL) Indianapolis 500	abc	JUNE 3, 3:30PM (RACE 1) The raceway at belle isle park
abc	JUNE 4, 3:30PM (RACE 2) The raceway at belle isle park	NBC SN	JUNE 10, 8:00PM Texas motor speedway	NBCSN	JUNE 25, 12:30PM Road America
NBC SN	JULY 9, 5:00PM IOWA SPEEDWAY		JULY 16, 3:00PM Streets of toronto	NBCSN	JULY 30, 3:00PM Mid-ohio sports car course
	AUGUST 20, 2:00PM Pocono raceway	NBC SN	AUGUST 26, 9:00PM Gateway Motosports Park	NBC SN	SEPTEMBER 3, 1:00PM Watkins glen international
	SEPTEMBER 17, 6:30PM	* 90	HEDI II E SUBJECT TO CHAI		