Ed Jones
Ed  Jones
Dale Coyne Racing
Ed Jones
Career stats
Verizon IndyCar Series
Indy 500 Wins
Total Poles
Race Wins
Feb 12, 1995
19 Honda United Arab Emirates Sunoco Rookie Road To Indy Graduate
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Ed Jones earned numerous karting titles in his native Dubai before making his race car debut in the 2011 European Intersteps Championship. He drove in Formula Renault 2.0 and British Formula Renault before signing on with European open-wheel powerhouse Carlin in the ultra-competitive FIA European F3 Championship. In 2013, Jones became the youngest European F3 Open Champion in history, with six wins, 10 podium finishes and four pole positions.

In 2014 Jones and Carlin made the move across the Atlantic and into the Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires. Jones served notice of his title aspirations right out of the box, earning the first three race victories of the season – the first rookie driver to do so. He went on to finish third in the title chase, with a total of seven podium finishes and three pole positions. Jones returned to the fray in 2016 and captured the Indy Lights title and the Mazda scholarship with two wins, eight podium finishes and eight pole positions. Jones owns part of the closest finish in the history of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, as he finished second in the Freedom 100 to Andretti Autosport’s Dean Stoneman by a mere 0.0024 seconds.


(About working with 2017 teammate Sebastien Bourdais): "For a rookie, it's going to be perfect. I'm in a great position (with) Sebastien. I'm going to try to gain as much as I can from him, really learn because he's one of the best guys in the series. We're both at very different points in our careers, so I think it should make working with each other quite a bit easier than, for example, if it were two rookies."


  • 2016 Indy Lights champion joins Dale Coyne Racing for his rookie season in Verizon IndyCar Series competition.


  • Enjoys karting, boxing, music, cycling and football.
2017 Verizon IndyCar Series 17 0 0 1 5 0 13
Total 17 0 0 1 5 0 13
2016 Indy Lights 18 2 8 12 16 145 17
2015 Indy Lights 16 3 3 11 15 148 15

** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points

RAF = Running at Finish

Dale Coyne Racing

Dale Coyne Racing is a long-standing staple in open-wheel racing. Starting in 1984 as a driver/owner, Coyne ran several seasons of Indy car races. For several years the team raced with a stock-block engine, making Coyne a fan favorite. With the technical expertise of Coyne, the team built its own chassis in 1986, known as the DC-1.

Stepping out of the cockpit in 1990, Coyne turned his talents to the tutelage of several up-and-coming drivers. From Dean Hall in 1990 to Paul Tracy in 1991 and beyond, Coyne’s ability to recruit and coach drivers has shown well for drivers who have competed with this seasoned team.

Before making the transition to the Verizon IndyCar Series full time in 2008, the team competed in the Champ Car World Series with drivers such as Oriol Servia, Cristiano da Matta, Katherine Legge, Bruno Junqueira, Alex Barron and Michel Jourdain Jr.

Dale Coyne Racing recorded its first victory in July 2009 at Watkins Glen International with Justin Wilson behind the wheel.

Team Website dalecoyneracing.com
First Start
March 12, 2017 (St. Petersburg)

Ed's Road To Indy

  • 2016
    • Won Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires championship for Carlin with wins at Barber Motorsports Park and Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.
    • Claimed a total of eight podium finishes and eight pole positions, including at the Freedom 100 at Indianapolis.
    • Tested a Verizon IndyCar Series car at Sonoma with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.
  • 2015
    • Finished third in his rookie Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires season, with victories in the first three races of the year.
    • Claimed a total of seven podium finishes and three pole positions
  • 2014
    • Earned two podium finishes in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship with Carlin, missing three races midseason due to a back injury.
    • Claimed eight podiums and one pole position in the inaugural Florida Winter Series, organized by the Ferrari Driver Academy.
  • 2013
    • Became youngest European F3 Open Champion with six wins, 10 podium finishes and four pole positions.
    • Finished third in the British Formula 3 National Class with five wins and four poles in six races.
    • Competed in the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup/2.0 NEC.
  • 2012
    • Competed in Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0/2.0 NEC.
  • 2011
    • Made debut in single-seaters in the Intersteps Championship, finishing fourth overall with one victory.
    • Raced in Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0, the British Formula Renault Championship and the Formula Renault UK Finals Series.
  • 2010
    • Won numerous junior karting championships in the UAE.